Final Portfolio–TechConnect 2.0

image

https://sites.google.com/site/welcomejuliebutler/home

What you will find in this portfolio are the seven portfolio assignments listed on left as well as my my reflections on blended and online learning throughout the course. I earned a Masters in Ed Tech in the mid-nineties just about the time the World Wide Web became a popular household term. In 1996, I had a model technology classroom with a mini TV studio and laptops I sent home with my students. We had a class Web site, we made videos and Hypercard stacks (kids had to write a bit of code to create what Web 2.0 tools do for us now), and we had e-portfolios that we saved on floppy disks and VHS tape.  It was all very difficult back then, but not as difficult as convincing teachers that computers were here to stay. Many of my teaching cohorts were convinced that using technology in the classroom was a passing fad.

Now, nearly 20 years later, I find myself on the other end of the spectrum. I am now the older, experienced teacher, and  my beliefs about education, classroom structure, and tech have become somewhat rigid. I did not really realize this until I began this class and grappled with what it would take for me to let go of the leadership position in the classroom. My observations of how people learn and what learning environments inspire critical thinking, problem solving, and ultimately positive change coupled with the emerging technologies that allow for student autonomy, have motivated me to step out of my comfort zone and challenge my own beliefs in an effort to become a better teacher.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

